The Singapore Branch held its 8th AGM on 26 April 2018.

At the AGM, Chou Sean Yu who presided as Chairman took the meeting through the Branch’s Directors’ Report for 2017/2018 which set out details of the membership, events organised, courses run and other activities of the Branch from April 2017 to March 2018.

Membership had increased about 19% from 395 to 469 from end of 2017 to March 2018. Fellows comprised about 44% of the membership, which is the biggest cohort in the Branch membership.

Several events were held in 2017 and these included a talk by Professor Janet Walker on “PO1: The end, or the beginning?”, a talk by Professor Hilmar Raeschke-Kessler on “IBA Rules on the Taking of Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration: The Common Law and Civil Law Approaches”, the SIAC-CIArb Debate 2017, and the CIArb Members’ Evening 2017.

Various courses were conducted in 2017. These included the Accelerated Route to Membership, Accelerated Route to Fellowship, Introduction to International Arbitration, Module 1, Module 2 and Module 4. The Branch is one of the few branches in the world which runs all the courses offered by CIArb for international arbitration. The Introduction to International Arbitration course was also conducted for a group of delegates from the Bangladesh International Arbitration Centre on 7-8 December 2017.

Click here for the Minutes of the 8th AGM.

Consequent to the 8th AGM, an election for the office-bearers in the Board for the new term was held. Mr. Chou Sean Yu was honoured to continue to serve as Chairman for another year and Paul Sandosham, Jonathan Choo and Richard Hayler also agreed to continue to serve in their respective positions as Vice-Chairman, Honorary Secretary and Treasurer. The office-bearers were duly elected by the Board.

The Singapore Branch currently has 16 Directors. Mr Matt Wills retired from the Board and the Branch would like to duly acknowledge his many contributions during his tenure. Mr Steven Lim stood for election as director and was duly elected.

Board of Directors: 2018-2019
1. Chou Sean Yu (Chairman)
2. Paul Sandosham (Vice-Chairman)
3. Jonathan Choo (Hon. Secretary)
4. Richard Hayler (Hon. Treasurer)
5. Francis Xavier SC (Immediate Past Chairman)
6. Richard Tan
7. Raja Bose
8. Timothy Cooke
9. Sapna Jhangiani
10. Amanda Lees
11. Kent Phillips
12. Balasamy Rengarajoo
13. Andrew Yeo
14. Simon Dunbar
15. Mark McGeoch
16. Steven Lim