CHAIRMAN'S MARCH 2021 MESSAGE



As we enter the month of March, there are green shoots appearing, with the global roll out of the COVID-19 vaccines. There is a sense of cautious optimism that the worst is over. As we look ahead to 2021 with renewed hope, I thought this would be opportune time to provide a brief recap of the key events of the last quarter of 2020.

In October 2020, the UK All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Alternative Dispute Resolution released its report, "Securing the UK's

position as global disputes hub: lessons from Singapore". The report was based on a fact-finding trip to Singapore in August and sets out a vision for what it will take to be a leading hub for the management and resolution of disputes. We are proud that the Singapore Branch hosted members of the APPG, MPs John Howell and John Spellar, giving them an overview of the arbitration landscape in Singapore. Do read the report at https://www.ciarb.org/media/12067/appg-report_digital.pdf

In my capacity as the Chair of the Singapore Branch, I attended CIArb Congress 2020 on 10 November 2020. It was held virtually with branch chairs across the world dialling in. During Congress, Jane Gunn was elected Deputy President with effect from 1 January 2021 and will assume the Presidency in 2022. John Bassie will become Vice President on 1 January 2022, Deputy President in 2022 and President in 2023. During Congress, branch chairs were also broken up into small groups for a workshop session. I had the opportunity to discuss various matters of mutual concern with chairs of other branches across the world as well as Jonathan Wood, Chair of the Board of Trustees.

At the beginning of December 2020, the amendments to the Singapore International Arbitration Act came into force. Firstly, new Section 9B of the Act provides a default procedure for the appointment of arbitrators in multi-party arbitrations. Pursuant to this procedure, in multi-party arbitrations with three arbitrators, all claimants are to jointly appoint an arbitrator, all respondents are to jointly appoint an arbitrator, and the two party-appointed arbitrators are to jointly appoint the presiding arbitrator. Where the Claimants or Respondents are unable to come to an agreement on their choice of arbitrator(s), the appointing authority must, upon the request of any party, appoint all three arbitrators at its own discretion. The second amendment expressly recognises that a Singapore-seated tribunal (12(1)(j) of the Act) and the Singapore High Court (section 12A(2) of the Act) have the power to enforce any applicable obligations of confidentiality.

The end of 2020 saw our own Francis Xavier SC step down as global president of CIArb. Francis has done a tremendous job during his time as global president, despite the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic. I am sure you will join me in thanking Francis for his invaluable contribution to CIArb as well as his continuing involvement in the Singapore Branch. May I also take this opportunity on behalf of the Singapore Branch to congratulate Ann Ryan Robertson for assuming the position of global president on 1 January 2021.

The past few months have seen an increase in the level of engagement between 12 Bloomsbury Square and the branches in the Asia Pacific region. Catherine Dixon, the Director General of CIArb has been hosting regular calls with the chairs of the branches in the region. These calls have offered a great opportunity for HQ to update us on initiatives being implemented globally as well as for us to raise matters of concern to HQ. One of the issues raised during these calls is the desire for greater collaboration among the branches in the region. To this end, I am pleased that the East Asia Branch, Malaysian Branch and Singapore Branch will be jointly conducting the online Introduction to International Arbitration Course on 5 March 2021. I am also delighted that Amanda Lees will be course director for this Course, with tutors from the three branches participating this course.

I am also pleased that the Board of Trustees have approved our Branch Development Plan and Supporting Business Plan for 2021. My personal thanks go out to those who have worked hard on this Business Plan and I look forward to us implementing our plans this year. It is hoped that with businesses getting used to the new norm and with the roll out of the vaccines, we will be able to host more in-person courses and events in due course. Do check our website for details of upcoming events.

One of the first events we hosted in 2021 was a fireside chat with Ann Ryan Robertson and Claudia Solomon, the new President of the ICC International Court of Arbitration. This event jointly hosted with ICC Singapore was held on 5 March 2020 and conducted virtually with Ann dialling in from Houston and Claudia from New York. I am delighted to report that the event was a great success with over 200 people "zooming in" from across the world. It was a fantastic opportunity to get up close with two exceptional women in the arbitration world and hear them share their views on a diverse range of topics including ethics for arbitrators, conflicts of interest, diversity and inclusion, as well as sharing their own stories of their personal journeys in their respective careers.

Before I end, could I express my congratulations to the following Singapore Branch members who attained their fellowship status in the last quarter of 2020. It has been a real privilege to be on the panel conducting the peer interview for these candidates and meeting the future talent of international arbitration. I wish them all the best in their arbitration careers, and that they will wear their *FCIArb* accreditation with pride.

- 1. Yasir Kadhim
- 2. Myriam El Kara
- 3. Wei Khai Tan
- 4. Michael Pringle
- 5. Melvin Hsien Huei See
- 6. Anne Secomb
- 7. Eugene Wei Liang Thong
- 8. Kia Jeng Koh
- 9. Gang Duan
- 10. Seow Hwei Mar
- 11. Matthew Brown
- 12. Vanessa Lim
- 13. Jen Wei Loh
- 14. Denny Dianyan Lin
- 15. Alla Smirnova
- 16. Kia Meng Loh
- 17. Moon Kua
- 18. Wei Lee Lim
- 19. Alasdair Snadden
- 20. Sean Hardy
- 21. Anne Coulon

It remains for me once again to thank all members and fellows for their support of the Branch and its activities in what has been a challenging 2020.

Paul Sandosham, Chairman